You have more than 1 Les Paul -- do you set them up the same or differently?

David Garner

Reaction score
When I acquired my 2nd, by trade, I decided I wanted one to be "vintage" and one to be "hard rock." They didn't stay that way, but I also didn't want them to be identical. So I have one set up as a sweeter, cleaner blues machine, and one set up as a snarlier, angrier rock machine, but both have unpotted PAF style pickups and the same basic hardware and wiring. For me, I like a particular sound from a Les Paul. Variations on that theme are good, but I couldn't spend much time with one of them being set up for stuff like 80s metal and more modern tones. It ended up being something I just wasn't after.

I considered setting one up for slide but I haven't (yet?) done that. Right now, I enjoy the slight sonic differences between them.

I've seen others who set them all up the same way. "I have 10 Les Pauls and they all have Bare Knuckle Mules" or whatever.

What's your preference?

KelvinS1965

Reaction score
I have one with Bareknuckle Mules :D (well an Epiphone LP anyway) and the other has the standard Gibson P90s, so they sound quite different to start with. For some reason the Epiphone needs 10s on it rather than the 9.5s on the GT otherwise the Epi feels too loose, so I guess they are set up differently too. Not for the lack of trying different adjustments, but that's what seems to work for them and me.

Have to say that I do tend to play the same stuff on both of them though (whatever we're learning for our next gig).

I too don't understand the having 10 of (whatever) guitars if they are pretty much the same, perhaps bar colour differences or some minor spec changes. Perhaps someone who gigs a lot and needs some backups/different tunings, but otherwise I can't understand it.

PierM

Premium Member
Reaction score
I dont even use same setup on same guitar...that is a weird question.