Wildwood Spec 60th Anniversary ‘59

DryFly

Reaction score
What’s different about these LPs vs the Standard 60th Anniversary ‘59? I noticed they have custom spec pickups, but are there other differences?

Also, how do these pickups compare to the standard Custombuckers?

Are they worth the extra $800? At $6,500 it seems like the standard 60th Anniversary should already be “perfect”.

Subterfuge

Reaction score
aged plastics from the factory .. that's a first

jktxs

Reaction score
Are they worth the extra $800? At $6,500 it seems like the standard 60th Anniversary should already be “perfect”.
It's not about whether the base specs are perfect. Custom specs usually are an upcharge.

JMB1984

Premium Member
Reaction score
Handpicked woods, aged plastics/hardware and underwound Custombuckers about sums up the 2019 Wildwood Spec.

I have some experience with their pickups on the pre-2019 pots and caps. I felt indifferent about them. In comparison to regular CBs, I found them to have added clarity, particularly in the neck pickup on darker sounding amps. Adversely, I found them to be lacking in the bridge when I wanted more push for the harder classic rock. Though I guess they are not really meant for that. Aged plastics/hardware are a nice touch to have without being full blown aged (no dings all over the guitar). After market options for plastics and pups will probably get you there cheaper.

freebyrd 69

Premium Member
Reaction score
Total ripoff. Other than some different pickup specs, the rest is smoke and mirrors. I always laugh when I see people advertising these used thinking they will get their upcharge back.

They select their woods the same way other sponsors here do. That “hand selection” thing is bullshit, and so is the rest of it. Sure, they are nice over there, and dongood demo videos, but “wildwood spec” is a joke.

Last edited:

Clint

Reaction score