Why so bright? Why less bass?

trapland

Reaction score
Im trying to figure out this one Les Paul sounds so much different than any and all others Imown or have owned. In the interest of streamlining this, i am going to try to ONLY list pertinent information so as to avoid as many "try my favorite recipe" type responses.

This one LP Standard is a preHistoric, and it is much MUCH brighter than any of the dozens of other LP I have or have had. But it's not just brighter, it also has much MUCH less bass frequency than any of my others. I really like it and would like to extend some of this tone to another guitar.

*** please assume ALL other variables are the same as any other Historic I own or have owned. I'm not a newbie and have been chasing this guitars tone on and off for a long time. I'm willing to entertain other ideas once the electronics have been ruled out.

It is absolutely NOT the pickups. I have had at least 5 sets in this guitar and used the same sets in multiple guitars. Every set is super bright and reduced bass, yet sound normal in every other guitar.

Here's the pots and caps, all are measured.
Bridge volume is 533k, tone is 103k, capacitor is simple ceramic .022.
Neck volume 542, tone 111, cap .21

There is an aluminum diamond plate. Wiring is grey plastic insulator, not braided, except the pickups of course.

There is a jack "can".

Hopefully that is enough info to learn why this guitar sounds so radically different than any other LP I've heard. Thank you in advance.

moreles

Reaction score
What pots/caps are you using in the other LPs to which this one is being compared? If they're the same, (or if you run them on 10 anyway) we can largelyrule them out and look elsewhere, but if they're much different, well...

ARandall

Reaction score
It has a unique wood combination.

But look at the tone pots......at very low K ratings if you have 50's wiring an odd effect takes place.....you have a bass rolloff.