Why do I hate strats? And do I need therapy?

el84ster

Reaction score
This is inspired by another thread but maybe someone can fill me in on what I’m missing.
jimi is the only guy I’ve ever heard make a stray sound really great. To me they’re always thin, bland and too sproingy.

Now I’ve been playing for over 30 years, went to Berklee, played live a ton and manage a studio, so I’ve had plenty of exposure to strats

If something is that popular but I don’t like it, it tells me maybe there’s something I’m missing.

someone please explain the beauty of this guitar to me. Do I need therapy?? And I do realize I’m asking this on a les Paul forum Lol. This thread is meant in fun.

Last edited:

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score
Now I’ve been playing for over 30 years, went to Berklee, played live a ton and manage a studio, so I’ve had plenty of exposure to strats
I'm a hack, so whatever I say is suspect. I should also qualify that my Strat-like guitar is a Yamaha Pacifica, set up as a SSS with Fender TexMex pickups.

I tend to agree with most of your post. However, I also find that the Strat neck tone is its own kind of sublime as a clean tone. But other than Hendrix, SRV, David Gilmour, Dave Murray and Blackmore, I don't even identify if one is on a recording.

kysrsoze

Reaction score
I think it has a lot to do with the style of music one likes to play and listen to. I'm not a huge blues person - much more on the rock/punk/alternative/metal side, and humbucker guitars are just better suited for that. I love David Gilmour, but his music is more the exception for me.