Whole Lotta Intonation Questions. And Stupid Claims, Too.

rfrizz

Reaction score
I have been setting the intonation on Tune-O-Matic as well as other bridge types for a long time. This has been all self-taught based on reading books & websites. I know about setting the intonation to the player's style/fretting force, so that isn't an issue. I'm like all of you. I want to do the best setups I can. This is how I do it, along with some of my question. I hope posts in this thread from the experts will help me as well as anyone else doing setups, up our games.

I always use a new set of freshly broken-in strings.

Before I put them on, I adjust the saddles to the back, away from the headstock. My thinking is that when strings which are under tension go over a saddle, they get kinks, and if you have to move a saddle back while setting intonation, it puts the kink on the singing part of the string.

If you start so that the fretted strings are flat, you shorten the string by moving the saddle forward, shortening it to correct it, and that puts the kink off the singing part of the string. (Except for when I screw up and overshoot. DAMMIT!)

Is it important to loosen the strings before adjusting the saddle? It takes longer, but I think this minimizes damage to the string. The kink is unavoidable, but what about scraping tiny amounts of material off the string? And worse, causing wear to the saddle?

I have always used a keyboard/piano or a computer for a reference tone. The lights or needles on tuners never seem to settle down, and it feels like chasing a moving target, but with a reference tone, it is far easier. I simply adjust the saddle until the beats go away.