Which Marshall in a Box Pedal?

LP1865

Reaction score
Hey,
i'm thinking of building a Marshall in a Box pedal from a kit. Which one do you think would be great for playing anything from ACDC to Metallica?
1.) Marshall Guv'nor
2.) Hao Rusty Driver
3.) Lovepedal Purple Plexi
4.) Lovepedal Super Lead
5.) JHS Angry Charlie V3
6.) MI Audio Crunchbox
7.) BB Preamp

Wanting to hear your thoughts. I have never had the opportunity to play any of them.

LP1865

Reaction score
You want the Runoffgroove Thunderbird:

and PCB here:

seems kinda complicated as I have never built a pedal before. the others appear far easier to build. but thanks for the suggestion

AJK1

Reaction score
Friedman Dirty Shirley or Friedman Smallbox
I own both pedals and nothing comes close

EpiLP1985

They call me Derek.
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
seems kinda complicated as I have never built a pedal before. the others appear far easier to build. but thanks for the suggestion
Depends on how bad you want that sound, in a box that is.

None of the pedals you listed are ones I would recommend if you've never built a pedal before. With that said, they are not all that terribly complicated relative to the Thunderbird.

However, they are all simply distortion pedals with different voicing. The RoG Thunderbird is a literal Marshall Superlead emulation. Also, maybe look into some of the Catalinbread "Amp-in-a-box" interpretations over the ones you listed.

pondcaster

Reaction score
Also, maybe look into some of the Catalinbread "Amp-in-a-box" interpretations over the ones you listed.
Good advice, imo. When I was looking for MIAB type pedals and watching a bunch of YT reviews, here's what I went with and couldn't be happier. Even has the Super Lead / Super Bass (internal) switch... all & all just a great pedal. Not counting a Ditto, it's the only pedal I own.

EpiLP1985

They call me Derek.
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score