When to Level and Crown Frets on a New Build?

SlingBlader

Reaction score
Just looking for opinions on what stage in the building process is best to level, crown and polish frets? I'm assuming that experienced builders wait until the end... but I'm wondering if I should do it prior to finishing since I'm a noob? I can see pros and cons to either way.

I asked this question in my build thread, but my posts are so long that my questions are probably overlooked. Lol

Thanks,
Gary

Skyjerk

Meatbomb
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have no idea at all how everyone else does it, but I do it dead last. All thats left to do after the fretwork is put a fresh set of strings on it and make a ruckus :)

I dont see any potential benefit for a novice doing it earlier in the process. If you are afraid you'll
put dings in your finish doing the fretwork the solution for that is to mask off everything, use padded surfaces to sit the guitar on, and be careful :)

Fretrattler

Reaction score
Before I do anything I work on the neck. I have enough experience to do refrets, finishing etc. I think the most important thing are the frets followed by the nut and bridge. I would follow your own way, I don't see anything right or wrong. I use lots of painters tape to protect the finish.

Attachments

Freddy G

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
I like to install the frets so perfectly that they don't need any dressing. Seriously. But that's a goal that is not always achievable for one minor reason or another. In that case the frets get dressed last, after everything else is dialed in with the set-up. After the fret dress however a slight touch up on nut slots may be necessary.