What things should everybody learn to improve a guitar?

Mexicanbreed

Reaction score
What it says on the title. I have a few inexpensive guitars that I love, and I would like to know what I can do to improve their feel and sound. I have no experience yet in this regard. I know now that a good setup can improve feel a lot, but I don´t know how to d one yet. I see a lot of people change their electronics, but I don´t know how to do that either. What are other things one can do to improve any guitar´s feel?

The_Dude

Reaction score
Take some sandpaper and make it look 50 years old, that will improve the tone, just kidding. In all seriousness, a good setup is crucial. Read through the setup sticky http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/luthiers-corner/89160-tech-stuff-massive-lp-setup-pic-heavy.html and give it a shot, also look on youtube for a good setup video although you may have to filter through a bunch of videos were people are spewing BS.

If you have questions while you are learning the setup, post on here, the good guys in the LC will help you out.

One thing that baffles me is how crappy the setup on ever Les Paul at my local guitar center. I have to practically get the GC corporate to authorize an employee to get one of the LPs down from the top rack so that I can play it and then when they do, the setup is so horrifically bad I just want to cry. I guess they figure people that buy LPs are going to buy them even if they have a bad setup.

So What

Reaction score
Playing is usually a good thing to learn for improvement.

:laugh2:

TheX

I am Varna Sankar
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Buy a guitar with 2" nut and nylon strings. Learn to read music and study the Segovia method.

Give this some time, and the rest will be easy.

Mexicanbreed

Reaction score