Types of boost

Lhdr

Reaction score
If I understand correct there are many types of boost pedals, Clean, dirty, trebble, transparent (kloneish) and possibly others.

I’ve got a new Supro Delta King 1x12 (15watt) with onboard boost and drive switch. I freaking love this amp for low volume with the boost switch on and preamp on high, master low. It plays beautiful at very low volumes for practicing.

I’ve never bought a freaking pedal in my life after 40 years playing guitar, but want to get a basic delay and something else to work with this new amp. Mostly for lead tone. I’m a newbie at tone shaping But have been watching the pedal show.

Me thinks - possibly another boost pedal before the amps on board boost switch might give me something crazy good. The drive channel is great for fuzzy stuff but want to explore more clean overdriven tones. Ideas? Maybe a boost(y) overdrive? I’m not to into heavy distortion. I like some cleans cutting through for blues.

Every amp will sound differant with each pedal I realize, so this is a crap shoot I’m looking to narrow down and try something without spending too much in case it’s a dud. What would work with this amp and a low output les paul. Into Bloomfield, Clapton etc…

ARandall

Reaction score
Boosts add extra voltage to your signal.....pushing an amp that is already overdriven into more distortion and compression/sustain. A clean boost is simply taking the existing signal and adding more to everything. A treble boost is a distortion/boost that cuts out the muddying bass aspect of the signal (the thing that makes fuzz so bad for humbuckers).
Klon's are just a regular overdrive, but when you set them to low gain high volume they do the same as a clean boost. Any overdrive can be set the same way. SRV used a Tubescreamer this way into his Fenders
If you use any of these on a clean channel or without overdrive all you will get is a louder more obnoxiously blatty tone.

but want to explore more clean overdriven tones.