Tuner pedal recommendations

Robert Parker

Reaction score
I need a new tuner pedal. I've been using a Kliq for about 2 years and am getting really tired of how slow it is. But the one thing I really like about it is being able to drop the displayed note by half-step increments. We play a half-step down, but I use open E and G in addition to standard. It's nice not to have to remember all the different tuning values down a half-step in between songs, changing guitars etc.

I'm looking at a TC Polytune, a Korg Pitchblack, and a T Rex Tunemaster. However, I can't seem to find any that clearly have that transposing option. I'd prefer a more compact design than Boss. Any suggestions or other considerations?

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score
I have a TC Polytune 2 and really like it. Favourite feature is being able to strum all strings and get a readout of which are out.

shupe13

Reaction score
I'd use whatever your band mates use since there is variance in brands.

tzd

Reaction score
I have a TC Polytune 2 and really like it. Favourite feature is being able to strum all strings and get a readout of which are out.
I’ve been using the PolyTune 2 and I find that when I strum all the strings together, my low E will show slightly sharp, but then I play the low E string on its own and it shows dead on in tune. Do you encounter that?

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score
I’ve been using the PolyTune 2 and I find that when I strum all the strings together, my low E will show slightly sharp, but then I play the low E string on its own and it shows dead on in tune. Do you encounter that?
On mine, the low E sometimes doesn't show up using the strum feature.

shupe13

Reaction score
I have never seen/heard where this is an issue, and that includes my work with student musicians.