Tubes for 5e3 Tweed Duluxe

JDouglas

Reaction score
I am new to modding amps and I have a Ceriatone 5E3 Tweed Deluxe. I was told by a friend that the Electro-Harmonix tubes I have are not that great. I am considering changing all the tubes to vintage RCA 6v6's. I came across vintage RCA GT 12AX7, 12AY7, and a 5Y3GT.

Some are uses but supposedly tested good. I was wondering if I made OK choices and was looking for advice since I am a noob. Should I try them out one at a time in case one is bad.

Here are pics of my tubes...

Attachments

• !B)slpd!EGk~$(KGrHqN,!iMEw5ddm6kwBMOmiphHVg~~_3[1].jpg
    !B)slpd!EGk~$(KGrHqN,!iMEw5ddm6kwBMOmiphHVg~~_3[1].jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 28
  • !B)FcCCQCGk~$(KGrHqZ,!jgEv1+0EL4BBML8F)J,5g~~_3[1].jpg
    !B)FcCCQCGk~$(KGrHqZ,!jgEv1+0EL4BBML8F)J,5g~~_3[1].jpg
    58.2 KB · Views: 27
  • !ByBfrG!CWk~$(KGrHqJ,!iwEw5IoR6ZSBMP9c8BDtg~~_12[1].jpg
    !ByBfrG!CWk~$(KGrHqJ,!iwEw5IoR6ZSBMP9c8BDtg~~_12[1].jpg
    33.2 KB · Views: 24
  • !ByPNcF!CWk~$(KGrHqQOKnEEw9FtdZVWBMQ2c1qgPw~~_12[1].jpg
    !ByPNcF!CWk~$(KGrHqQOKnEEw9FtdZVWBMQ2c1qgPw~~_12[1].jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 22

Cygnus X1

Reaction score
The 5Y3 either works, or it doesn't...it's a diode like a light bulb.
The 12AY7 and 12AX7 should be good, and if they work, you are well on your way.

I would just start with those preamp tubes so you know what changed...where.

The RCA blackplates are great but don't just throw them at the amp right away.
You will need to know that (even though the 5E3 is a cathode biased amp) whether they are balanced enough.
You won't really know unless you get a meter on the cathodes and plates while it is live, so if you aren't comfortable with the chance of nearly 400 VDC shooting through you, then save them and take it to a tech.

Save the 5Y3, if you have one and it is working, then don't buy the hype about vintage rectifier tubes (unless we're talking about GZ34's but that's a whole other thread).
Should be fine there.