Truss rod on Epi 60s Les Paul

malibu43

Reaction score
I am new to owning a Les Paul. After playing my Epiphone Les Paul 60s for several weeks and making some action adjustments, I went last night to tighten up the truss rod as well to remove a tiny bit of relief from the neck. I was concerned to find that there was no resistance turning the truss rod in either direction (for several minutes I actually thought I had the wrong size allen key and kept trying different sizes) and nothing seemed to affect the amount of relief in the neck. After a while I went a few extra turn clockwise and finally hit some resistance, and then subsequently remove some relief with a few fractions of a turn.

I was concerned about all this until I read about 1-way truss rods (my other guitars have always been two-way truss rods I guess). Is it correct that my guitar comes with a one way truss rod? And then I guess the other thing is that whatever amount of relief I had in the neck before will be the most I'll ever get, since the truss rod was completely loose...? (unless I went to heavier gage strings or something...)

Lester

Reaction score
Yeah, I think you have it right... someone loosened the truss rod well beyond "end of travel" trying to get more relief. However, it may change over time with moisture and weather, as well as tension from the strings and being played, so I would not be too concerned.

Was this a new purchase or used?

EDIT: Oh, and this isn't a Les Paul thing... a single action truss rod is pretty much the same in all guitars as far as I know.

malibu43

Reaction score
Yeah, I think you have it right... someone loosened the truss rod well beyond "end of travel" trying to get more relief. However, it may change over time with moisture and weather, as well as tension from the strings and being played, so I would not be too concerned.

Was this a new purchase or used?