True words of a musician ...how could he know me?

Blues_Verne

Reaction score

What kind of sacrifices did you make for your music?​

I have made many many sacrifices for music. It has cost me a lifetime trying to unlock all it's secrets. Alot of people don't realize how lonely it really is, especially during all the time spent alone honing your skill. Performing is extremely gratifying, but lonely as well, considering that you are living each day only to come to life for about 3 hours each night when you get to perform. I have no regrets about it. music is the most honest and instantly gratifying thing I have ever done. I wouldn't trade one second of it for anything. Music, to me at least, is the very essence of life and living it. Chris McEwen

LeftyF2003

Reaction score
I was thinking about this recently. I started playing piano and taking lessons at 5, and practiced 2 to 4 hours a day for 5 years. I then switched to cello and had the same practice regimen. I then moved to drums for 2 years, then moved to guitar where I practiced 6 to 8 hours a day while taking lessons from a local legend for the next 10 years. I was also playing out in various projects, and eventually joined an all original fusion band that rehearsed 5 nights a week and played out 2 to 4 times a month. I then joined an all original progressive band where I had to learn 20 very complex songs that in some cases required writing the guitar parts. that band rehearsed 5 nights a week, and I was also practicing 3 to 5 hours a day on my own while working full time, barely making enough to split a tiny apartment, and twice having to move back into my parent's house. I then joined another band that had a lot of label interest, where I had to learn 20 songs in a week, then do our first gig at Toad's Place in New Haven for about 700 people, which led to an endless stream of gigs across the North East. I then recorded on the first album, but left the band over creative differences (I knew if I were stuck i