Tropical/ocean blue maple finishing help!!

ARandall

Reaction score
Well, I'm re-finishing a maple top (plus headstock veneer) and want to do that lovely gradiated/burst blue you see about where it looks like a tropical ocean/beach.
An example of the look: https://www.gyrockguitars.com/collection/dark-blue-ocean-burst-021/

I'm new to the whole stain/sandback thing as its not my fave way of doing maple.......but I've got to the point where the amount of initial black is the strength I want, and I have some clear onto it to lock that in.
DSC_0284.JPG

I'm just not sure how the colour goes.....is it simply a low intensity blue in the centre area that makes it almost look like 'shallower water'?

cmjohnson

Reaction score
Mix up several batches of dyes in different strengths. And use different related colors that fit the burst. So you'd use a green tinted with a little bit of blue for the middle, and a blue-green for the outer middle, and a blue for the outside.

Use a solvent soaked rag (but not TOO wet!) to blend the transitional area between the different dye areas.

Of course, you'd be well advised to practice on some scraps first.

Here's somethind I made that's basically the same idea but obviously in a different color scheme.

It was done as I described, except I did not do a black base stain as I didn't want to darken it like that.

DSC_7059_sm.jpg

Here's another one I did in the same manner. It's more similar to what you seek, but darker.|

From top to bottom, finished guitar, after applying the darker blue outer stain to the rim, and after solvent blending the burst with denatured alcohol on a rag.

DSC_4764_sm.jpg DSC_4517_sm.jpg DSC_4516_sm.jpg

Last edited:

cmjohnson

Reaction score