Traditional worth the upgrade?

crazytrain513

Reaction score
There's absolutely no doubt about it that the Traditional is a helluva guitar. Heck, the worst thing I've heard about them is them not coming intonated perfectly out of the box. I swear, every other "NGD" thread is a Traditional so there's definitely something good about them.

I have a 2012 Studio I recently purchased.

20121025_232228.jpg

Burstbucker Pros, Baked Maple fretboard, chambered, but sounds wonderful. I'm a classic rock junkie (Randy Rhoads, Iron Maiden, Michael Schenker, Scorpions, etc.)

So my question to you is:

If I really liked the Traditional a lot, would it be worth the $600 upgrade to it from my Studio? I'm getting a bonus from work so it's the only reason I'm considering, but I don't want to drop that much cash and have it be only a marginal upgrade. I've played a few and I can't decide... Also, having both isn't an option since I'm a starving college student.

Will the stock PUPs suit my style? Will it hold its value any better? Will I regret selling my Studio? I know many of you will say only I can decide these things but I'm much too indecisive and I have to decide quickly before the 2012 blowouts are all gone so any advice would be much appreciated! Thank you.

Reaction score
If you've played a few and can't decide, the answer is NO. When you've got a good Studio, it's really hard to beat. Don't move on until the GAS is keeping you up at night. Besides, you need the money for other things.

Kalamazuu

Reaction score
Do you prefer satin or gloss?

How important are looks to you?

That's what it really comes down to.
Me, I'd do it.
I prefer gloss,
and looks are definitely a factor.

silvergoat2k6

Reaction score