Traditional versus Standard

njm921

Reaction score
Hey-I am not an expert on LP's, but I do know that if you love playing the guitar you have to have at least one LP on the wall! I currently have 2, both are Traditionals-One is a gold top with coil split p/u's-I have been thinking about selling it and picking up a Standard-I don't use the coil split option at all and I wonder if having two of the same type of LP makes sense-Could someone tell me the main differences in the two LP's and recommend a particular year I should look for if I do pick up a Standard-I have small hands and I love players like Billy Gibbons, SRV, and the like-thanks!

Wailing

Reaction score
I have a 2002 Standard ... That was a year they changed the spec, 9 hole weight relief, one piece body and some fantastic tops... As many will say.. you get good and bad in all years, but I think 2002 was a more good than bad year...

jstarr823

Reaction score
I dig the asymmetrical neck profile on the pre original collection Standard. Could do without the controls, but it doesn't hurt to have options. Weight is all over the place, regardless of weight relief format. Not fond of the chambered models.

Niloy63

Reaction score
Why no periods? lol I'm just joshin.

Could someone tell me the main differences in the two LP's
Generally speaking, the Traditional has more traditional specs, while I've seen Standards come with both traditional and more modern specs.

...recommend a particular year I should look for if I do pick up a Standard-I have small hands and I love players like Billy Gibbons, SRV, and the like-thanks!