Tone Bender mkII Replica ~~ NOS OC75 Transistors ~~ Tonebender clone

RambleFX

Reaction score
I am a hobby builder of pedals and will be making just 4 of these with NOS Mullard OC75 Germanium transistors. I haven't been active on this forum, but my eBay and TDPRI userid is also tjk3052.

This is a premium Tone Bender mkII Professional replica. At the heart of the circuit are 3 NOS (new old stock) Mullard OC75 Germanium transistors that were hand selcted to have the proper gain and leakage to make a truly special tone. The capacitors are Mallory 150 metalized polyester film, and are the choice of many botique amp builders. Even the resistors are era correct, cabon composition resistors. All of that mojo is stuffed into an aluminum enclosure smaller than a normal Boss pedal.

It has all the magic that the great Tone Bender's have. Deep, thick, vintage tone that will sustain forever. At minimum 'Attack' it has a buzzsaw growl, and at max it becomes a wall of fuzz.

In addition to an authentic mkII Professional circuit, there are 3 great features which makes this pedal extremely versatile.
  • Mk I.V switch: The rare, and highly collectible, version before the mkII Pro was the "mk I.V" (mark 1.5). This switch bypasses the first transistor making the circuit nearly identical to the mk I.V. The mk I.V is very similar to the classic Fuzz Face. It has less gain than in mkII mode, and cleans up very well with your guitar's volume.
  • Fat switch: The fat switch is a subtle change to the tone and output. It adds more bass and volume.