Tenon angle question...

AndrewLP1081996

Reaction score
I'm building a les Paul jr based off of tom Bartletts 54 jr plans. I'm trying to find out the angle for the neck tenon and the clearance needed at the bridge location if that makes sense. I have a wilkinson gtb wraparound bridge. Has anyone used this bridge or knows what I should do? This is my first build so this is a bit confusing for me.

Thanks in advance, Andrew

ARandall

Reaction score
With a typical LP build, the fretboard 'line' hits the top of the bridge body section with the abr studs flush with the top of the bridge body too (15mm above body). I'd extend this type of scenario to a Jr....you have to make sure that the tailpiece at the lowest point isn't too high to get good action.

Jmorris

Reaction score
The neck angle on a jr is 1.5 to 2 degrees. I find it easier to angle the neck pocket vs the neck tenon.

fatdaddypreacher

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
i'd like to jump in the fray with another question. looking at the plans, it seems as tho the neck pocket is cut with an angled sides the same as the neck as well as exactly the same width of the neck. while i understand it wouldn't be technically correct, anything wrong with cutting a tenon on the neck like an lp, leaving it a bit short of the end of the fretboard, and that way it would be a lot easier for him to pull off a good fit, as the tenon and pocket would be parallel, and the fretboard would cover the seam. I am also wondering about why the plans show such a big gap between the end of the neck and the body? even though this is covered by the pickguard, what is it's purpose? surely a neck wouldn't expand in length that much, could it?

it just seems to me for a first time build it would be easier to pull it off with these modifications.

thanks.

fatdaddypreacher

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
so, JM. we're talking 1/2" at the bridge location from top of the fret plane would work with the bridge he is going to use?

fatdaddypreacher