Tell me about your vans / large SUVs

SneakySnakeLady

MLP Snake Lady
Premium Member
Reaction score
I work as a home health nurse case manager so my vehicle is my office. Early 2018 I bought a new 2018 Subaru Crosstrek (the orange one) and I still love it , but....

It's too small... my car seat takes up the middle of the back seat. My work supplies take up the entire trunk and with COVID19 I'm carrying more so it's spilling into both back seats, and the passenger side. Trying to make room for passengers is a nightmare. There's no extra room for groceries or the dog and in another year or so there will be a need for a second car seat...

I'm looking into a large SUV with third row seats and lots of storage space or even a van of some kind. The options are overwhelming. Gas mileage is important as I travel at least 50-100 miles daily through the week give or take. Safety is important as well.

LtDave32

Desert Star Guitars
Super Mod
Premium Member
Reaction score
That's a tough one, looking for the space you need and with good mileage to boot.

rogue3

Reaction score
Sounds like mini-van time...i made that leap when i ran out of room. Then i got through that phase,and downsized to a mid-sized SUV like what you've got now.

not as much to choose from today,it seems,as all makers have shrunk...or even deleted their big vans.My honda min-van from back then,had excellent mileage,but,they are much smaller now. :hmm:

Side Burns

Reaction score
Dodge has a few 3 row options (I own a little sports car tho, i don’t have /need one)

Durango is basically the GrandCherokee with folding 3rd row.

or Journey

Lungo

Reaction score
Have you considered a cargo basket that connects to a tow hitch? That would add quite a bit of storage. With the right storage bin it would be like adding another trunk.

VictorB

Formerly LZF
Super Mod
Reaction score
They may be a little pricey, but the Acura MDX has a third row seat. I test drove one about a year ago, and was impressed.