Tell me about Maestro Vibrola tailpiece

truckermde

Reaction score
I'm really takin' a shine to these '61 SGs with the Vibrola.

Thing is, I only like the looks of it as a tailpiece, and am not interested in using it as a functional vibrato.

Does anyone have experience with isolating it, like is easily done on a Strat with a small piece of hardwood?

I have no hands on experience with one, and as such, can not visualize what to do, which is why I'm asking for input.

Thanks in advance! :)

1622758789293.png

RobertD

Reaction score
I had a 64 with one and like you I didn't use it. I just turned the bar around and forgot about it. But they do look good.

judson

Reaction score
just take the arm off , leave it be...its not going anywhere usually,

or like post above rotate the arm back and tighten the screw

years back i had same tailpiece on my 72 ltd edition firebird, i used it frequently and you learn how sensitive it is and use it accordingly can be very effective .....you cant dive bomb it two or three times in a row and expect it to stay in tune but small accents done with a light touch sound great to me....you just to learn how to use it sparingly , my opinion.

just got another 72 to replace the one i had to sell years ago.....no adjustment needed, just leave the divebombs alone :hmm:

Last edited:

vaguely

Reaction score
agree with above. if you really must have it out of the mix, do as stated above but you're passing up something that is more musical and artistic, than straight-up-useful, in my opinion. the contraption is pretty wonky and yes, if you push hard, it'll go out of tune, but, it can be incredibly musical and beautiful; putting a tasteful lilt to chord stuff without sounding exaggerated or harsh. I have one a few guitars and really love them, quirks and all. hope it works for you!

truckermde

Reaction score
Thanks, guys. I wondered about removing the arm & leaving it at that...

Paul46

Reaction score