Stuff You've a learned Touring?

Skintaster

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Another good read Skin. :thumb:

But I have nothing to add.
Thanks man. My deal is that in writing that entry I got to thinking how many different ways there are to tour.

Not everyone piles into the same sort of van or bus or whatever. Some people have tour managers, some are just doing it entirely themselves. :)

Yui

Reaction score
Awesome read, Skin! I also read one of your other posts while I was there. Good stuff, good stuff.

I've got nothing to add either. Mostly because I'm not that good at guitar, I've never toured, and because the current "band" I'm in only consists of lead guitar, rhythm guitar, and drums. X3 Maybe a bassist is in order.

At any rate, great job on writing that! :thumb:

AngryHatter

Reaction score
- My guitar case doubles as a suitcase, easily
- Motel Six beats the van every time
- Bring more than you need of every thing
- Take every offer of food or drink or smoke
- Bring books - eBooks are preferable for weight
- Deck of cards
- Stock up on TOPS rolling papers

frankencat

Reaction score
Leave your gourmet palette home.
Learn how to sleep anywhere.
Always handle your own money.

Maynar

You reached for the secret too soon
Reaction score
You learn to hate clowns, because the lack of sleep will have you hallucinating those white faced bastards in no time.
Priceless. :D

mdubya

Reaction score
My only real "touring" experience came as the memeber of a BMX Freestyle team traveling the country doing demos at bicycle shops, summer 1987.

Not a band, but we were the rock stars at each show, each of which drew huge crowds and caused traffic jams and all sorts of similar things.

1. if you have to piss in a cup while the van is rolling, be very careful about how you empty the cup out the door or window of the moving van. :shock:

2. never sit behind anyone emptying a cup full of piss from a moving van. :wow: