String through VS. Top load telecasters.

zowenso

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
94
Reaction score
41
Ive been wanting to replace the current hardware on my 1996 Mexican tele from chrome to nickel. I replaced the stock top load bridge about 12 years ago and had the back drilled and it’s now string through. I’m having a really hard time figureing out what bridges will fit and match the string holes in my guitar. I have a modern style bridge, but wanted to go vintage style. So my question is, if i can’t find a bridge that matches the strings holes and I went back to a top load bridge, is the sound that much different than string through? Thanks.
 

Duane_the_tub

Senior Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
2,268
Reaction score
3,878
I have a Glendale bridge that can be strung either way, and it's noticeably twangier when top-loaded.

20170214_105749.jpg
 

zowenso

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
94
Reaction score
41
Hmm, ok that’s good to know. That will be a noticeably different sound than I’m used to then. I don’t think I’ll be able to find a vintage style bridge that matches up for me, so sounds like my options are either abort the string through commit to twangy and do a top loader or keep what I have. Thanks.
 

Bobby Mahogany

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
21,856
Reaction score
32,549
I have no idea what this implies but since it's a MIM and you're modding it anyway,
if you have to, plug the current holes and drill new ones for a
Vintage Reissue type bridge with three brass saddles.

Rock will ensue.
:D
 

zowenso

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
94
Reaction score
41
Yeah that’s an option I didn’t think of. Thanks.
 

JuSteve

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
75
Reaction score
14
The "String Through" Mexican Tele's have identical drill holes for standard or Vintage style bridge. I honestly have never had any hands on, as to top loaders.

You may have one of the odd ball models that have a US, Corona body & neck. I have a 1995 Strat with Corona woods & Mexican/Asia hardware, and it's labeled MIM.

(& I hate to say....."It still in the plastic.")
 
Last edited:

zowenso

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
94
Reaction score
41
I actually had it drilled for a string through bridge. It came as a top loader, so I’m Not sure the holes would match up with other bridges.
 

bum

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
986
Reaction score
1,105
I have a babicz full contact telecaster bridge and it does both top loading and through body and also has both 3 and 4 screw holes on it so it fits anything, it's also one of the best engineered bits of kit I have ever bought, I highly recommend them!

http://www.fullcontacthardware.com/fch-tele-bridge

123180_3600x2698_2500.jpg


The way they works brilliant, you have no little allen key operated screws, they work on a cam system, you adjust the cam and as it turns it revolves, raising the string. Very impressed with mine :)

 




Top