Solid or veeneer top question again..

LocoTex

Reaction score
I'm no expert by any means, but that looks like a pretty thick maple cap.

brokentoeswalker

Reaction score
Thats a tough one. Do you know the year or are there any more shots of the electronics etc ??

zeneffect

Reaction score
Looks solid to me. The center line is hard to tell but to the left in the corner you can see grain come up and wrap over to the top indicating no veneer

eborej

Reaction score
Based on those 2 pictures I would say veneer. That being said sometimes it's difficult to tell even when the pickup cavities are right in front of your face depending on how strong the figuring is in the flamed maple.

endial

Reaction score
If that is a veneer, it's the thinnest tissue-thin veneer I've ever seen.

Definitely not veneer.

brokentoeswalker

Reaction score
Tokai's veneers are very thin, l think they had a press or something to get them that thin. It can be very hard to tell. My eyes aren't good enough to see with those pics 100 % but some LS120 from that period are solid flame tops. I have one from '81. They are out there.

mono

Reaction score
It's a 50:50 gamble with an LS-120. No way to tell unless it's in person or verified by someone knowledgeable in person on your behalf. Personally, I wouldn't gamble if veneer is a problem for you.

JDZ

Reaction score
Much less than 50:50
LS-120's are almost always veneer.
I've only seen pics of one LS-120 that was clearly solid flame top, don't remember what year it was.
Can be very hard to tell sometimes if a top is veneer. Can't tell from those pics.

Edit - actually the seam line looks off from the top going into the cavity. Need high res pics of that. I don't see anything in the pics to make me think its a solid top.

Last edited:

wulfman

Let the good times roll....
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score