Seek help : Fernandes LP GoldTop P90, from 80s?

kennyandy

Reaction score
I am very new to Japanese brand Les Paul replicas, and recently I am looking at a listing, a Fernandes les paul goldtop with P90. I was not a big fan of this brand and never own Fernandes guitar for my whole life, rather I am more keen to get one Burny/Greco/Tokai; however I have never own a P90 guitar and always love to have a goldtop les paul style, so this guitar got my attention.

I had contacted the seller, he does not have much knowledge about this, he only knows it was from 80's and he claimed it was manufactured by Fujigen. It looks pretty new to me, if it was really from 80s. I have no expert and do not know how to date this guitar, and would like experts here to share their insights. Thank you very much in advance. Much appreciated.

P.S. Is this guitar PU any good ?

1.jpeg

3.jpeg

2.jpeg

4.jpeg

5.jpeg

JDZ

Reaction score
I'll preface by saying that despite living in Japan for a decade now, I know nothing about Fernandez or MiJ guitars. But...

Have you looked at the frets?
Guitars with rusty strings and frets that need to be cleaned can make for fantastic buys. One of the best ways to get a great deal as others will just pass on it.

I'm more than happy to spend 30 minutes polishing the frets or 45 it takes to level, crown and polish them.

This was one of the filthiest guitars I've ever bought. It looked like it had sat out of its case for decades. All the dirt and grime hid what was beneath.

mdubya

Reaction score
Fernandez has always had a very good to excellent reputation, IMHO.

I just bought a Tokai P-90 Goldtop made in Korea, 2005. It is a stupendous guitar. It holds its own against my Gibson USA and even Custom Shop guitars. Some of the details are not as precious as the Custom Shop stuff I have, but the quality is amazing. I would expect that Fernandez to be the same or better.

Send me the link if you don't buy it. :fingersx::naughty:

Grenville

Reaction score