Safety Tips: Large Amounts of Cash and CL

Reaction score
Hi, Everyone:

I wasn't sure where to post this, but everyone has been so welcoming and supportive since I joined this board so I thought I'd throw this topic out. I would really appreciate your insights.

I'm new to selling vintage and I will be selling a vintage Martin on Craiglist for around $5000 really soon. I have a few questions:

1) Where is the best place to do this safety?
2) Do you prefer to deal in cash or cashier checks?
3) How do you sense/know if it's a scam or there might be a safety risk?

I just picked up the guitar from my luthier, and he said he has one client who meets his buyers in the lobby of the local police station and that's where they do the deal. I thought this was a very creative idea, but I don't know that it would work for solid body guitars. It would be fine for acoustics.

Even if you do the deal in the police station, they could still follow you home, but if they cut you a cashiers check they have your name.

Sorry if I sound a little paranoid. Along time ago I had a gun held to my head in a retail store where I had to open a safe to avoid getting killed.

I thought maybe a local community college would be good, since they have security there.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Charmed Life

Jeremiah

The Worst
Reaction score
I've only done Craigslist once and had the person come to my home. I didn't take them through the house, I made them enter through our stormcellar. It was dumb, I know. It turned out well, though.

I did meet one person from the board in a music shop halfway between our locations. That was awesome. We got to try out each other's guitar's before trading, and it seemed like a good deal all around.

CRobbins

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
You could meet the guy at your local bank, or even in front of the Police dept. And bring your boys to cover your back. :cool:

stringbender11

Reaction score