Robocalls from the taxman

Skeletor

Reaction score
Does anyone have any creative solutions to the Robocalls from the IRS (in my case Revenue Canada)?
I'm getting them daily - different number every day so blocking the number is not an option.

Guessing that any sort of reaction (press 1 for whatever..) would just lead to an escalation (or perhaps some strange long distance charges or something)

Just suck it up and continue to ignore?

jkes01

Reaction score
These are the same people that work for Windows Support, Apple Support, and credit services to lower your interest rate.

I work in the tax industry and I can tell you the IRS will never, ever call you. Certified letter only.

Skeletor

Reaction score
Definitely a scam - never had any doubts on that... just wondering if there is a way to make it stop :fingersx:

jkes01

Reaction score
Add your number to the do not call registry? They are just fishing by casting a net. The problem is that they have gotten really crafty by spoofing local or even well known business numbers.

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score
Every phone solicitor that gets me on the horn soon learns I died in a terrible power tool accident.

fett

Get fett. It pays.
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
If you have caller ID and you don't recognize the number, don't answer. I was getting incessant calls and I ignored them until I answered one. I heard about 2 seconds of a recording and hung up. For the rest of the day, the phone rang every 5 minutes. I got in a mega-loop. :mad2:

VictorB

Formerly LZF
Super Mod
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
It’s a scam. If the IRS wanted to get a hold of you, they would not call.

SteveC

Village Elder
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Never answer. Never. If your carrier offers a SPAM call blocking app, get it. Verizon started offering theirs for free last fall. Since I installed it, I get about 80% fewer spam calls. Much better.