Requesting Bridge Guidance

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Hey gang,

I have an opportunity to cop a late 60s 335 that needs its parts back.

One thing that made me pause - it had a stop tail and Nashville bridge installed. It’s not a museum piece but I’ll probably spend for a good refin in the future.

Do any of you guys have experience with this? I’m looking for guidance whether I should dowel/retrofit an abr1 or grab something that looks the part that will fit on the Nashville posts. I have no experience with this and would prefer insights from someone who has dealt with this specifically before. I love the idea of the abrbut am curious on real world experience.

Roxy13

Reaction score
I'm definitely not an expert but if you are getting it refinished anyway, why not have it doweled and put an ABR on it?

Otherwise there are inserts that screw into the bushings that would convert the posts for an ABR.

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Let me clarify - I’d likely consider a quality refin some years down the line.

I’d be wanting to address this in one way or another before then.

Dilver

Reaction score
Faber makes posts that will fit into the nashville bushings and therefore allow you to use an abr bridge. IMO that’s the better solution. As to the refin, does it really need it? Some pics would help…

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Faber makes posts that will fit into the nashville bushings and therefore allow you to use an abr bridge. IMO that’s the better solution. As to the refin, does it really need it? Some pics would help…
I’ll grab pics tomorrow. The refin is nasty but IMHO no guitar really “needs” one. I say that as a player. All my vintage gear was bought with issues to keep it affordable.

The Fabre option is intriguing. I like that better than screwing conversion posts into the bushings. Metal to wood contact carries some psychological weight w me as a player.

Dilver

Reaction score