Replace hardware on 2022 LP Standard 50s?

stone_fingers

Reaction score
I recently got a new LP Standard 50s and was looking at options to replace the shiny chrome hardware with aged parts. Initially I fell in love with the Creamtone LIX parts but then I found a few threads on this forum where people report having issues with orders, shipping, etc, so I guess I will need to consider other options.

Any opinions on who makes the best quality aged hardware? Also, what is the difference in tone between nickel and aluminium hardware?

I am completely new to replacing guitar parts so any help is appreciated. Cheers!

jstarr

Starr Guitar Works
Reaction score
That’s nickel plated hardware on your Standard, which can be easily aged. Just Google aging nickel. I’ve had great success with putting the hardware in a sealed Tupperware container with a small bowl of muriatic acid. You can hand tumble all the parts together in the Tupperware before adding the acid, which will help with the distressed/aged look.

Roshy Boy

Reaction score
I get wanting to make the hardware less shiny. I have a 50s Standard too. I've also had various Custom Shop Reissues with the VOS treatment. They were all great too with the overall look on the finish of the whole guitar. I sold and traded them until all I had were Fenders. So I bought the 50s Standard after stopping in Guitar Center one afternoon and played it. Everything just felt right and looked right, so I took it home.

Personally, I wouldn't change the hardware and would just leave it alone. I think I've had it going on a year now. I keep it out of its case and play it almost every day. It hasn't aged one bit. It still looks great. I think some guitars are meant to stay shiny and this is one of them.

I do like a relic too and that's what my Fender Strat is for. And in a moment of weakness, I just bought a Second LP. A custom Shop 54 Reissue with the VOS treatment. I guess I have the finished covered now. From shiny new to relic.