Refinishing 1959 Les Paul Junior

BCGadgets

Reaction score
Hi all-

I purchased a '59 junior 6 years ago and it came to me with no finish on the body. I've been gigging this guitar heavily for 6 years and think it's finally time to protect the wood. I never intend on getting the guitar restored (had a heel break, was once routed for a humbucker etc.) but I do want to preserve it as best as possible.

Is there a rub on oil or varnish that I could apply to at least offer some protection from the elements?

Thank you

Attachments

therealfrogman

A fool and his money....
Premium Member
Reaction score
I would either leave it alone (It looks good) or use some reranch nitro clear maybe 3-4 coats and keep playing it. That is an ass kicking look right there and I would keep it that way. I would avoid rubbing oil into it. I am just a simpleton.

rabidhamster

Reaction score
Hi all-

I purchased a '59 junior 6 years ago and it came to me with no finish on the body. I've been gigging this guitar heavily for 6 years and think it's finally time to protect the wood. I never intend on getting the guitar restored (had a heel break, was once routed for a humbucker etc.) but I do want to preserve it as best as possible.

Is there a rub on oil or varnish that I could apply to at least offer some protection from the elements?

Thank you
Only good choices are nitrocellulose lacquer or shellac. Nitrocellulose lacquer is what won’t look weird and out of place, everything else will. Shellac can be wiped on, is easy to repair and won’t prevent the future owner, after you’re gone, being able to put the correct looking finish on it

lowatter

Reaction score
Nice axe. Any idea on what it started out life as color wise? I would ponder taking it back to the original color.
What's up with the pickguard?

cherrick

Reaction score
Nice axe. Any idea on what it started out life as color wise? I would ponder taking it back to the original color.
What's up with the pickguard?