Recent quality at Gibson is stunning.

Sirstringalot

Reaction score
Take it from a fender guy who bought two les pauls this year and is blown away at the quality. As a fender player I bought a Gibson here and there in years past, about 15 years ago and again around 7 years ago and wasn't impressed but these 2021 models are stunning.
New Fenders are still hit and miss, took me three tries to get a strat that didn't have playability issues. It's a joy to me that you take take a Gibson out of the box and play it, every time I bought a new fender I would have to do a complete set up and then hope it played properly up and down the neck.

InTheEvening

Reaction score
I’m fairly new to Gibsons but have had great experience with the 2020 onward models as well. Most I play seem to be great out of the box with just needing a minor tweak here or there in set up for personal preference. Maybe I’m just not as experienced or discerning but more than happy with most of the examples I’ve played. Of course there’s always a few duds but it seems to be more the exception that the norm.

cowsgomoo

Reaction score
very impressed with my 2020 standard 60s. Nice and clear low output pickups, stays in tune, looks the part, plays great. No stupid rim bursts and pink plastics. Nibs are like the ones i had on my R8 and custom, as opposed to the huge obtrusive USA ones of old

Shelkonnery

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's refreshing. We've been having new posts about QC issues weekly.
Did any of you guys play the guitar before buying or was it all online?

bad565ss

Reaction score
I have owned many Les Pauls dating from 1985 forward. I just took delivery of a 2021 Iced Tea
60s Standard from Sweetwater.
Fit and finish is flawless.
One of the best I've seen out of the box.
Even the nut is properly cut.

mjross

Reaction score
That's refreshing. We've been having new posts about QC issues weekly.
Did any of you guys play the guitar before buying or was it all online?