PROCO USA RAT-2 TROUBLESHOOTING ADVICE NEEDED?

Woman Tone Man

Reaction score
I am seeking advice from any fellow forum members for my early 90's Proco Rat-2 pedal with an LED light. I get a clean signal with my guitar. When I engage the switch the LED turns on but I do not get any sound with a fresh battery? Might this be a cold solder joint to the board or switch, an issue with the jack, or something else? I am a novice with a multimeter but if pointed in the right direction I can troubleshoot with it.

Thank you in advance :cheers:

488.jpg

489.jpg

490.jpg

ErictheRed

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
There's a lot of things that could be and unfortunately on my end those pictures are pretty blurry. Can you check voltages at the op amp to make sure it's turning on? Maybe Google what voltages should be on what terminals.

Woman Tone Man

Reaction score
Can you check voltages at the op amp to make sure it's turning on? Maybe Google what voltages should be on what terminals.

What setting would I put my multimeter on? Is the op amp the LM308 chip and how would I probe the voltages?

Rogueaverage616

60Th Anniversary R9
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am seeking advice from any fellow forum members for my early 90's Proco Rat-2 pedal with an LED light. I get a clean signal with my guitar. When I engage the switch the LED turns on but I do not get any sound with a fresh battery? Might this be a cold solder joint to the board or switch, an issue with the jack, or something else? I am a novice with a multimeter but if pointed in the right direction I can troubleshoot with it.

Thank you in advance :cheers:

View attachment 575158
View attachment 575159

View attachment 575160