Problem with Kirk Douglas signature SG

Barabus

Reaction score
Hi does anyone know where i can get, or does anyone have a schematic wiring diagram for the Kirk Douglas SG?

I've looked on the Gibson.com and it's not listed.

My problem is only the middle position is working, i believe you should be able to combine treble and middle, middle and bridge, not sure if all 3 at once as there's not a lot of info on these guitars.

The toggle blend knob works and the volume and tone pots work but the sound is only from the middle position.

Has anyone owning this SG had this problem or would a kind soul who does have one be able to take a picture of the 3 way switch so i could see how it should be connected.

Thanks in advance for any help, i'm new to SGs
fingersx.gif

pnuggett

Reaction score
"Thanks in advance for any help, i'm new to SGs"

So is Kirk Douglas

questionman

Reaction score
Honestly, I would wire the middle pickup to either a push pull (if thats even possible) or a switch on its own.

Lucidsounds

Reaction score
I have one of these. The three position switch works like a normal neck/both/bridge selector. The middle pickup only comes in when you turn the tog pot - you can't have the middle on it's own, it has to be combined with one or both other pickups.

You can split either the neck, bridge or both by pulling the knobs, but the middle pup is always in humbucker mode.

Has yours always been like you describe, or has it just developed this fault?

Jackster

Reaction score
I have one of these. The three position switch works like a normal neck/both/bridge selector. The middle pickup only comes in when you turn the tog pot - you can't have the middle on it's own, it has to be combined with one or both other pickups.

You can split either the neck, bridge or both by pulling the knobs, but the middle pup is always in humbucker mode.

Has yours always been like you describe, or has it just developed this fault?

How do you like your Kirk Douglas?

RufusTelestrat