Prewired Wiring harness advice for Les Paul Standard PP

Orange Lester

Reaction score
I have a 2013 Les Paul Standard Premium Plus that I purchased new, and I have been playing it for several years. Its stock. It currently has the modern wiring harness. I dont use the Coil split, or the blow switch. I have another Les Paul that has Greenie pickups for that Out of Phase tone. So, that said....

I'm looking to go with a 50's wiring. I have another set of Gibson pickups that I might use as part of the refit. Price is definitely a consideration on the harness.

I'd be interested in hearing about experiences/results from your purchases from the vendors here.

Thanks for your perspectives in advance.

-Orange

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Go with James at ReWind if you want it done perfectly the first time around. I'm sure others could too, but James has done it for me several times and I'm pretty picky.

I know pots are pots, but I have played some prewired kits that just felt like trash - even though supposedly using quality components.

If I were you, I'd ask James for a vintage taper harness with some kind of PIO caps. It should help quite a bit with brightness and provide you a lot of dynamic on tap throughout the taper of the volume knob. This will be even more noticeable if you pop in a decent set of PAF type pickups.

I personally would recommend a set of older Burstbuckers if you want gritty/ratty/warm humbucker tones for cheap. Your wallet and tastes point the direction here. James could certainly knock this out of the park, too. There are so many good winders out there at almost every price point. I'm a huge vintage and boutique pickup fan and I'm really enjoying a set of Duncans that sound REALLY good.

sk8rat

Reaction score