Post holes drilled incorrectly?

Southwest

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I’m completely new to building and repair so the following may be complete crap. If it is, please tell me – I’m trying to learn.

My cheap kit continues to throw challenges my way. This is the latest, and if I’m right the biggest, so far. Early in the build I did a dry fit and noted the unusual bridge saddle positions after a rough intonation.
1632156591186.png

I put it down to a combination of the crappy plastic OEM nut and the crappy OEM strings and carried on with the build. Once complete, I took a nut file to each of the three bass string slots to angle them back to the tuner posts, then strung up with EB9s. No difference. The bass E never quite gets to 12th fret intonation, but perhaps would if I turn the saddle around. Ditto the A string.
1632156622784.png

So I got a long ruler on it. I’d already done some mods including adding a Nashville bridge by this point.
1632156669566.png
1632156690622.png

1632157101325.png

1632156735067.png

So the 12th fret measurement gives me the expected 24.75” scale length, but the bridge is way off, particularly on the bass side. The neck is bolt-on, but looks to be fully seated in the pocket.

Does this (as I think) show that the bridge post holes were drilled in the wrong place? Anything else (less catastrophic) it could be? If it’s the post holes, I’m guessing my only course of action to fix it properly is to dowel the hole(s) and re-drill. Is that right?

Many thanks in advance for any guidance.

Attachments

ARandall

Reaction score
Its either getting the neck further in, or move the bridge holes. The neck option will take more work, but the bridge option will be more obvious later.

Davey Rock

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I’m completely new to building and repair so the following may be complete crap. If it is, please tell me – I’m trying to learn.