Planer advice

cain61

Reaction score
I'm just a hobby woodworker with an interest in lutherie. What kind of planer do most of you recommend? I was thinking in the $400-$600 range, assuming that will do. Any particular ones to stay away from?

Thanks, Cain

fatdaddypreacher

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
unfortunately, there is a pretty big price jumb when you get above 12" and to plane glued up maple caps for a carved top build, you will need a 15". it may be difficult to find anything new for the kind of budget you have, but grizzly and the similar tools made like them have served me well. if you can find a decent used one you might find one in the upper end of your budget

cain61

Reaction score
Thanks, Bob. I was thinking I could run the half- caps before glue-up and they would stay virtually flat afterward. Does that not happen in real world?

DaveR

Reaction score
FDP is totally right about needing a 15" for guitar work as most guitar bodies are in the 13" range and most budget planers are 12". I nearly bought a used 15" Powermatic last year but let it go because it didn't have a spiral head. I could kick myself for that now, because I've had to plane a TON of rough cut stock recently on my 12" Dewalt lunchbox planer.

Trying to plane half caps probably won't work out all that well. I've done it, but it required a lot of finessing after the glue up. Also, what's the body wood? If it's one piece you've got the size problem again. If it's also halves, then you're compounding the issues you'd have with the maple cap pieces.