PGK Les Paul Build

Aaronoutside

Reaction score
Ok, here we go! I am super excited about starting my first guitar build. I have done a bunch of fine carpentry, and played acoustic and electric instruments for years, and have always wanted to build my own instrument. Figured that there was no time like the present. I have done a bunch of research and feel like I have a good blueprint on how to do this, but since I am new at this, I would love feedback on what I am doing and any potential mistakes that you see as I go through this. So feel free to let me know when I am doing something stupid :facepalm:

With all the work that would go into this, I decided to go with high quality equipment so that I could come out with a fine instrument at the end of this. To that end, I bought a 59' Plain Carved top from Precision Guitar Kits and it just showed up, and looks beautiful. The neck joint looks to be a perfect fit, and overall, I am really happy with the craftsmanship. The neck itself has pretty well dressed frets the seem to be level and needing minimal work. Even the body has some nice character for a clear piece of wood. My plan is to aim for a 59' Burst look and feel. Why not shoot for the top right??;)

fit, and
IMG_4028.jpg
IMG_4027.jpg

Aaronoutside

Reaction score
Here is the basic framework of my plan and the components that I am going to use.

- Grover Vintage Tuners
- Zero Glide nut
- Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge and Aluminum Tailpiece (Nickle)
- Cream plastics, but probably no pickgaurd
- Golden Age Parson's St Pickups Nickle (Alnico 2 in Bridge and 5 in Neck)
- 50s Style Wiring

For the wiring, I have not gotten that yet, but was looking at @jonesy and @Tone Man Guitar as both of them seem to have great stuff. I really want to put the wiring kit together myself, and just deciding on what is going to give me the best sound.