Persistent Fret Buzz

Adinol

Reaction score
Greetings,

I customer brought in an American Strat to fix fret buzz. The frets were pretty flat from wear and a few frets were high. Jumbo frets. I did some spot leveling with the fret kisser and recrowned all the frets, then polished. The recrowning was done properly, with Sharpie and Z file.

The relief is set to .011" as customer likes and he actually likes medium action, so we are not dealing with low action. The fret buzz persists with strings 10 - 46 gauge. Even when I raise the E1 string action to .90 I get fret buzz starting from about the 9th fret to about 14th fret. I rechecked all the frets with rocker and I'm not getting any rocking. I even changed the strings in case there was a kink somewhere. And the buzz is not coming from the saddles or other hardware.

Any ideas what I should be looking for, next?

Thanks

jkes01

Reaction score
I’m no pro, but have leveled more frets than I care to remember. That fret kisser is intended for spot leveling, but I would not trust it. Better to spend the money on a leveling beam and diamond crowning files.

To eliminate any chance of fret buzz, a full fret level, crown, and polish should be performed, especially if the frets were as worn as you say.

Adinol

Reaction score
Thanks for your thoughts.

One reason I didn't do a full level was because I could not straighten the neck. I hear what you are saying about the spot level. You might be right.

I do have a leveling beam and I guess I'll just do another leveling job tomorrow.

Sometimes I find that a full leveling job is quite aggressive and I want to avoid taking material. So I did some tests to determine how to approach it. I did a fret rocker test, marked off the high ones and did a spot leveling job. Then I used a straight edge and tried inserting really thin paper (from a receipt printing roll) to see if the paper catches between the straight edge and the frets.