Pedal Board Help

standard man

Reaction score
Hello MLP
I am looking to build up my pedal board. Right now all I have is a Crybaby Original wah, and a Digitech Whammy. I will have about $150 to buy a few pedals and I was wondering what I should get. I mostly play Rage Against The Machine and Buckethead. I have played Distortion pedals through my amp and they give too much feedback so I dont want a distortion. Im sorry if this is a stupid question but I am new to the world of pedals. Thanks all for your help!
TY

guitarsmark

Reaction score
+1 on both of the above posts. and a decent overdrive shouldn't feed your amp back right away if it does - you are probably playing too close facing it and too loud.

standard man

Reaction score
Well, I went to a clean model on the amp, turned the pedal on, and there was tons of feedback. I adjusted the settings accordingly but it didnt help.

zap2012

Reaction score
You're not going to get a bunch of pedals for $150, but If you could only get two, I would strongly suggest a Boss GE-7 and a Boss TU-2. I held off on buying the tuner forever because I kept thinking that it was way too much (about $100 new) for something I could do by just plugging into a $20 digital tuner. But the TU-2 is completely worth it, especially if you can find it used on eBay.

The equalizer is crucial to my sound--it's always on, and my tone is incredibly thin without it. But it's just so versatile, I think everyone should have one. You can use it to boost a certain range, to sculpt your sound all the time, or even as a clean boost for solos. It's a must-have.

The other pedal I'd recommend is the Big Muff Pi. I know you're anti-distortion pedals, but the Big Muff is just so fat and awesome.

Check them out!

TeleDog

Pain in the Rear!
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
You need to talk about your amp. Do you use the modeling features? Do you use the overdrive the amp has to shape your sound or you wanna shape it with a pedal? It depends on that.