Paul Kossoff's tone/gear

dubyatf

Reaction score
Good stuff Woody! 'All Right Now' - sounds overdubbed to me - like he played back over himself (I'm far from a recording expert that's just the way it sounds to me). My '87 LP with an older Seymour Duncan in the bridge and through a Marshall DSL - sounds a lot like PK's tone. In fact I have a hard time getting away from that tone in general (to my ears). My tone could be far worse I guess - LOL!

Blues Power

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
PK is another great one who was taken from us way too soon.
Forget ARN its the intro to "The Hunter" that made me want to learn to play :)
after that it was the solo to ARN. I leanred all about how to use major pents from that one.

Cookie-boy

Reaction score
+1 Agreed. A masterful user of vibrato and understated playing. Rolling solo's that never confused the ear. Super stuff!

JW123

Reaction score
Hey Woody Tone,

Thanks for putting this up. I have never seen that video before. It sounds really good, and yea he had an amazing vibrato in the live video, way more than the studio version we are all used to hearing all these years.

Ive got a very stupid question Im sure. But why does Rodgers have the double mic setup. I was watching some other older era videos recently and a lot of them have the double mics on vocals. Just curious.

Tons of Sobs

Reaction score
I was inspired to dig into his All Right Now tone, and his tone in general. Published what I found on my blog at the link below. Wasn't much out there published on his gear at all, so please note any mistakes or additions. Looking for more info!

WoodyTone! - Paul Kossoff’s ‘All Right Now’ Tone
The Selmer T&B sounds plausible to me. I saw Free live several times - and about four times after ARN was released. Koss never got that tone from either his Marshalls or his HiWatts.