Particle board headstock!!!!!?????

Reaction score
As a private guitar teacher, I often perform repair and setup work at cost of materials for my students. I figure if they have a proper playing instrument they are likely to play more. And of course I encourage them to invest in quality instruments.......that said.......

A new student started the other day. She has a well setup Squire Strat and also brought an acoustic that she said "has a broken string". OK, let's take a look....she pulls it out of the bag and one of the tuners is missing. The guitar is a "Spectrum".....cheap as all hell, but the joints are clean and the neck is straight, nothing wrong but a cheap guitar and a missing tuner. I check on StewMac, $33 for a set of tuners, plus some strings and she has a playable acoustic......nowhere near as good as a $200 Yamaha, but not much money and her dad says "sure, fix it".

So the tuners eventually arrive and I start pulling the old ones out. The screws practically fall out of the back and the bushings indeed literally fall out. The holes look like they were drilled with a rusty drill bit operated by a drunk. Eventually I conclude that drilling them clean, plugging with hardwood dowels and re-drilling is the only option. So I start doing just that, only to discover the headstock is some kind of particle/chip board! There is a hard "shell" around the outside, but it is particle/chip inside - like a cheap shelf board.

I should have taken some pics, but didn't think about it until I had already plugged all the holes. I figured the body was all ply, but never would have guessed the neck was some sort of press board. Insane! Anyone else seen anything like this?

BTW, this is the same brand and similar to the guitar in question....slightly different model number though. https://www.amazon.com/Spectrum-Acoustic-Natural-AIL-36S/dp/B008AD88EY

LtDave32

Desert Star Guitars
Super Mod
Silver Supporting Member
Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score