P90, 1 or 2 pickups

golfnut

Reaction score
I was in Long and McQuade yesterday trying out some P90 equipped guitars. I have had very little experience with P90's but for the past while have been meaning to check them out. I really like what I heard and as I'm saving up for what is supposed to be my last guitar purchase before retirement, a gibson R9 I'm already planning another, the P90 guitar.
The 2 I tried was a Les Paul Jr and a standard 50 goldtop. I'm leaning towards the les paul jr because I find it comfortable and light compared to the standard 50. I'm just wondering if I'd actually miss a neck pickup on a P90 guitar.
So just wondering what you other players would prefer and why?

Christosterone

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I live on my neck pup…or, if it’s a 3 pup, the neck and middle

so, for me, 2 pups are a must…

plus, its a friggin goldtop standard….nothing, i repeat nothing, on gods earth compares to a bound les Paul goldtop…

-chris

angeldeville

Reaction score
Tough call, I’m a neck pickup player, but I don’t miss the neck pickup on a single p90 guitar.

golfnut

Reaction score

plus, its a friggin goldtop standard….nothing, i repeat nothing, on gods earth compares to a bound les Paul goldtop…

-chris
Hmm. I didn't think that I'd have a reason to get rid of my tobacco burst standard 50 once I got my R9 but possibly I may trade it for a standard 50 goldtop with P90's.

mjross

Reaction score