Owners of Mainline Gibson Standards AND Custom Shop R 8,9,0.

MyLesPaul462

Reaction score
I apologize if this is discussed ad naseum, But I have to ask...

In terms of the two most important aspects of a guitar IMHO, Tone (mainly by way of the pickups) and Playability (action, neck, fingerboard, feel, etc...) How big is the difference in your opinion between Gibson's Mainline Standards (50's & 60) and their Custom Shop reissue standards (R8, R9, R0)

I don't want to hear about the relic-ing or how they've used molecular analysis to recreate the plastics and paints at the molecular level. :rolleyes:

We're just talking Tone & Playability.

ManlyMcBeardface

Reaction score
I have no experience with a custom shop Gibson, but I just purchased a Standard 50s and I can say that compared to a tribute or studio it’s mostly feel. Fret nibs are under the binding and the neck carve is more rolled and form fitting in the hand. So far these are the things I've noticed. The pickups are definitely an upgrade as well, but I’m not sure if that’s due to the pickups themselves or in combination with better tone woods. The standard just seems more resonate as a whole and the playability is immediately noticeable.

I would be curious to see if this also applies to custom shop pieces.

MyLesPaul462

Reaction score
Definitely there's a huge leap from the Tribute to the rest of the line. I always tell people if you're struggling to pay for a tribute or studio, do yourself a favor and go with one of the high-end Epiphone models. It'll be a phenomenal build. The Chinese luthiers have come a long way. You can then swap out the pups for pups of your choice.

But if you make a decent living. Buy the standard you cheap bastard. A moped or dirtbike will run you more. lol. Help support American craftsman. Meanwhile Gibson should keep pushing for an ethic of quality and perfection at their U.S. plants. That's why it's called competition folks, you have to keep up with the competition.

ARandall