Opinions/Experience with Line6 Variax JTV-59

cybermgk

Singin' the body lectric
Premium Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
I just purchased a Demo (in excellent almost new shape, 3 TINY scratches). It's a 2019 manufacture, Black, with the Ebony fret board).

Those that have a JTV-59 what are your general opinions? Mind you, I am a modeler guy, so that part really appeals to me.

In particular, I am curious about the these items (as NO ONE around here has one, so it's just vids and reviews to go on.

1. Neck, It says JTV 59 neck. I have heard it's chunky. But how does it compare to Gibson necks, Where does it fall on that spectrum?

2. How sticky, or not is the gloss neck finish? I really like my nitro and satin poly necks

3. How are the Humbucker pickups on their own. I've read most think they are great, but I trust folks opinions HERE.

4. Any mechanical or digital issues?

tzd

Reaction score
1. Neck, It says JTV 59 neck. I have heard it's chunky. But how does it compare to Gibson necks, Where does it fall on that spectrum?
It is very rounded, similar to Gibson 50's neck. I get along with this neck better than my Gibson 50's neck. Has a very nice rounded neck joint that makes it easy to access the 22nd fret.

2. How sticky, or not is the gloss neck finish? I really like my nitro and satin poly necks
It is the same finish as you would find on gloss poly PRS SE or ESP LTDs made by WMI in Korea.

3. How are the Humbucker pickups on their own. I've read most think they are great, but I trust folks opinions HERE.
They are fine normal humbuckers, nothing very special about them, but also nothing bad to say about them. If you put it on the Variax Les Paul model, the modeled humbucker sounds more compressed than the real humbuckers.

4. Any mechanical or digital issues?
Yes. I shipped it back to Line 6 once to replace the entire digital board and switch, under warranty. The switch got stuck when pressed.