Ok..who is buyin the real 59's?

Rezamatix

Reaction score
More like people in finance and CEOs. Most lawyers and doctors I know (and I am a doctor, PS) are more than comfortable, but $200k is not exactly chump change for them.
those 40k 63/64 strats are in striking range for you!

Patek

Reaction score
People who have their own businesses and have done really well.

Top people working in finance and on big annual bonuses.

Property / development tycoons.

The occasional musician / person in the music industry who is at the top of their game.

People who have received an inheritance (like parents property) and cash out and decide to treat themselves

Mickey B

Reaction score
Only speaking for myself, the last 4 burst purchases I have direct knowledge of, serial number, price and buyer, were all successful professional rock/country musicians. As a former small time pro who became a lawyer I have amassed a large collection, 350+, and been repeatedly told to downsize 40 guitars and buy a burst. I can't do it. Having played about 20 real ones, some are magic and some are nothing special. Is a '58 really worth 10 to 15x price of a '68? Or 10x a '54? My two cents, they're good and will appreciate, like a Monet or a Rembrandt, but 999 of 1000 "collectors" will never have the wherewithal and many who have them paid 15k about 25 years ago, who knew. Such an outlier high end piece also has crazy volatility and maybe worth a fraction when the greatest/richest generation dies and unfortunately noone knows or cares who (my heros) Bloomfield and Clapton are?

2Muchgear

Reaction score
I love how there always seem to be 2-3000 ‘59’s for sale if you add up auctions/eBay/reverb/Craigslist, etc. there were what, 465 or so made?

The Reverend claims he was offered $5million by a Japanese collector. Screw lawyers and doctors, theit pockets aren’t deep enough (or alligator arms prevent otherwise).

Yamaha R1

Reaction score