OH NO! Another "what amp to buy" thread!

Blues hurler

Reaction score
OK, OK, I know these can be tiresome, but here goes...30-40 watts, 1X12 or 2X12, something I can lift, price no object, but must be commonly available, not vintage (I'm no expert on amps and want something I can count on to just plug 'n play), probably a combo, cover sonic territory from traditional 50's Chicago blues to ZZ Top (with the aid of a pedal or two). Reverb is a plus. Warm, meaty, tastey.`I've passed my 50th birthday and it's finally time to step up and buy a really good amp. I've been playing things like Traynors and Fender Hot Rods, which are fine, but now I'm looking for EXCEPTIONAL. A real keeper. Waddaya think folks?

MIDNIGHT

V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
hmm.. :hmm:

check out H&K's tube amp combos :naughty:

or maybe a Peavey will suit your taste? like the Classic 30, or the Valvestate 112? :wave:

or maybe you want a Vox AC30? :wave:

or maybe a Fender Hot Rod Deville or Deluxe? :wave:

or maybe a Marshall DSL 401? :wave:

just throwin' it all out there for ya :p

good luck on your amp quest! :thumb:

:hippie:

LoKi

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Matchless or BadCat combo's are truly spectacular.

Look into the Mesa Boogie Lone Star series. The Lone Star Special is a killer amp, and does everything you've listed up there.

jpatrickgreen

Reaction score
+1 on the Lone Star series. Perhaps try a Rivera as well if that sound suits you.

lp59aholicDon

V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Ok Some amps I have experience with in your range
going from favored to least favored
Marshall JCM 900 4501 or 4502 Difference being 1 12 or 2 12' Celestion
G 12-75's There is a half power switch in the back that brings the amp down to 25 watts. ZZ top tones to classic blues, i have read in more than one place that Jim Marshall actually had this amp built to direct towards Billy Gibbons .