NGD - Gibson LP Signature "T" Translucent Ebony (2012)

LesMotDaD

Reaction score
Hello,
after being a silent reader here in the forum for a long time, I can finally write my first post (well, actually it will be two, but more about that later).

I've been playing guitar since I was 13 years old and as a teenager I always dreamed of a Gibson, but at that time I could only afford an Epiphone.
After graduation I had very little time for guitars and playing and sold almost all my gear. Now I am 32 years old, so I have not really played for almost 10 years. However, at the beginning of the year I got a real desire to play guitar again. My father is unfortunately not even 60 years terminally ill and I have noticed at the latest by that that I should not only focus on work, but on the things that bring me joy here and now!

Since I myself, however, was not quite sure whether I would find my way back into playing, I did not want to get a super expensive Gibson. After some research I found a Gibson Signature "T" in Translucent Ebony, which I liked very much. It was produced in 2012, but is in really good condition.
The biggest drawback people here always mention is the Granadillo fingerboard. However, this hardly bothers me. In the photos it still looks quite light, but in real it is pleasantly dark and had I not known it, I would have thought it was rosewood.

The guitar is just a dream! Although it is only a AA top, I like the grain very much. The playability is terrific and my joy of playing was reawakened from the first moment!

I have the guitar now for 4 weeks and am still thrilled. A few little things I have to do soon. The fretboard needs to be oiled, I want to polish it a bit and I also ordered chrome covers for the humbuckers - I think that fits the vintage look of the guitar.

However, there is one problem... a huge problem, which I really resent Gibson!