Newbie 1959 'Burst Build

nocturnal005

Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Norm and I know nothing about building guitars.

I'm not only new to building guitars, I've never even held one in my hands. That shouldn't stop me from building one though right? The short version of the story is that I wanted to learn woodworking with a project that was a challenge and had some utility/coolness factor and this seemed to fit the bill. I'm an mechanical engineer by trade and am handy with cars and the welder but when it comes to wood I am clueless.

This isn't intended to be a full build thread so there are going to be a lot of skipped steps. I just want to chronicle the milestones and be able to ask questions every now and then as I get stuck (I'm sure that will happen a lot)

After reading a lot, armed with Bartlett's plans and Preeb's build thread over at the Telecaster forums I dove right in...

nocturnal005

Reaction score
Inspired by Preeb, I'm going to attempt to make this guitar as historically correct as possible. There's no way I'm going to be able to measure an actual '59 LP so I'm going to have to trust the work others have done. I've started with the Bartlett plans but will do a true 24.75" scale based on the fret positions posted by Preeb and will aim for a lowish neck angle ~4.1 degrees.

I started by buying a practice fretboard of IRW. I figured if I was able to build a fretboard that I could tackle the rest of the guitar. It was a cheap way to find out anyway, at $20.

Here is the fretboard 1/2 way into the process: