New to the community

amarc89

Reaction score
Hey everyone, my name is Anthony and I'm a college student who has gotten into playing guitar fairly recently (coming up on half a year soon).

I first found this forum doing all kinds of research on my first guitar I ever bought and still have, which is a MIM strat. This forum was extremely helpful in many ways and I've been meaning to join the forum for awhile, but without a Les Paul of my own, I figured I'd be a little out of place.

But now that's all changed and I'm pretty excited about it. About a week ago, I was able to find a 1978 Gibson Les Paul Standard for a price that at the time seemed to be too insane to be true. I traveled pretty far to check it out and everything turned out to be in pretty damn acceptable shape.

I'd like to attach some pictures and get the opinions of the members of this forum, who all seem to be pretty objective and have a great deal of knowledge.

Here's what I do and do not know about it:
- It's not completely original. The largest change by far is the wood grain refinish. The guitar was refinished at some point and the guy who had it didn't know what color it originally was (I believe this instrument was passed down through family). The bridge pickup is also unoriginal (and I don't know what it is) and so are the machine heads (which appear to be Schallers from what I've seen on the internet).
- There was crackling when I first plugged it in, but it has seemed to wane over time. Maybe just because someone let it collect a lot of dust over the years?
- There are a whole bunch of minor cosmetic damages, like some chips and cracks in the refinish. No structural damage from what I can tell, though.

These pictures are from the seller. I don't have a camera with me up here, but a friend is going to take some for me, so I may have some of my own soon.

Any and all input would be completely appreciated. Hope to hear from you all soon,

- Anthony

Attachments

• lp1.jpg
    lp1.jpg