New Shop - Machine Recommendations

Duane.S

Reaction score
I am building a new shop and would like some opinions and recommendations on the major power tools and other equipment.

About a years ago we moved from the Los Angeles / Orange County area to San Luis Obispo in the California central coast. I had a 2 car garage shop in the OC where I built and repaired many guitars. When we moved, I sold most of the woodworking machines that I had at the time, either too big to put in storage or decided I’d rather have a different machine.

I am converting a 700 sq ft ADU (apartment) for my shop, which has 480 sq ft for woodworking, 160 sq ft clean space / office and 60 sq ft bathroom / spray booth.

I am a hobbyist and am not looking to build a lot of guitars. I have built mostly electric guitars in the past but will also be building acoustic guitars.

The machines that I kept are:
  • Powermatic (Jet) 16-32 drum sander.
  • Bench top spindle sander.
  • Dewalt 13” benchtop planer.
  • Delta 16” floor drill press.
  • Compressor, 2hp, 10 gal tank, 5.3cfm @ 90psi, and kept all of my finishing equipment.
  • Homemade buffer using a Shop Fox arbor.
  • I recently bought a used General 48-850 overarm pin router.
I’d like to get recommendations on what machines you think are the most useful considering my floor space. I’ve found that you can never have enough work bench space and plan to build my benches to fill up the shop.

I’d prefer not to get into the different brands, but focus on the type and uses of the equipment. I’ll have questions on brands or models after I decide what I need to get.

I have a decent budget, but I’m good with buying used. In the past some of the machines in my shop saw little use so I am open to benchtop machines that I can stored out of the way.

Here are some of the machines that I’m considering:
  • Table saw – Contractor or cabinet? I had an older 52” Delta Unisaw that got a lot of use but took up too much space.