Need help choosing a new amp

lennoed

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm fairly new to guitar so can you go easy on me if I ask stupid questions ?
I want to buy a low watt tube amp for playing strictly at home that is not going to have the neighbours calling the police every time I play. I like the tone you can get from a tube amp but know you have to crank it up to get them to work properly so what sort can you crank up but not be too loud ?
I've looked at reviews on Youtube and have narrowed it down to maybe the Blackstar HT 1 Mkii or the Marshall DSL 1 CR or would I be better to go to 5 watts in those models and use the low watt channels ?
Because of where I live, I can't get in to store to try them and have to buy on line so that's why I need some help.
I play a Les Paul and like blues, blues rock style music and play clean a fair bit too.
Hopefully someone that's played them both can give me a better idea of what will be the better choice.
Thanks in advance !

TrippyStormtrooper

Reaction score
If the sound you like, like me, is the power amp pushed hard you're going to be in trouble with even a 5W amp. Unfortunately the name of the game is LOUD. Where I live it's ok, but anywhere else I would be in trouble. Also, being new, and playing loud, is a recipe for police calls because no one wants to hear you practice, or play poorly very loud.

I would look for a low wattage amp under 5W you can push hard and loud, or get a good pedal platform and buy a nice OD. But keep at it man. I love the sound of my Marshalls cranked and there's nothing like it. When you dig into a chord and the fabric on your jeans flaps.

Robert Parker

Reaction score